Library‎ > ‎Databases‎ > ‎

Research Databases

Contact librarian for user names and passwords.
Encyclopedias & Videos
Animated clips for all subject areas*
PBS content and grade aligned videos with lessons*
Access Scholastic's 8 thematic encyclopedias


Encyclopedia Britannica en Español
Newspapers & Magazines
http://natgeo.galegroup.com/natgeo/archive/?p=NGMA&u=cuny_centraloff
National Geographic Virtual Library from 1888-1994

http://galesupport.com/novelGeo/novelGeoLink.php?loc=nysl_ca_dmvacces&db=ITKEVisual search of magazines and newspapers

http://galesupport.com/novelGeo/novelGeoLink.php?loc=nysl_ca_dmvacces&db=ITKEDatabase of newspaper and magazine articles for K-8

Research controversial topics


Worldwide news archive including NYTimes from 1950
Current event articles with just-right reading ability*

All the latest pop culture news in reliable sources
http://nyshistoricnewspapers.org/
Access to a wide range of newspapers that reflect New York's unique history.
Content Specific Collections
http://misc.brooklynpubliclibrary.org/remote/login.aspx?res=trueflixeBooks paired with videos for various subjects

Social studies eBooks paired with videos

Science eBooks paired with videos plus experiments, career info, and news
http://www.arkive.org/ Research endangered animals
http://gdc.galegroup.com/gdc/ncco/?u=cuny_main&p=NCCO 19th Century collections online
http://find.galegroup.com/sas/start.do?prodId=SAS&userGroupName=cuny_main&finalAuth=true International primary resources documenting the history of slavery
Various photo galleries of Historic Brooklyn
Image galleries including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, etc.
*Requires account log in; **Requires BPL log in;